The British Foreign Office. Photo: UK Government

01 December 2022, 13:48

Heads of five regions of Southern Russia come under British sanctions

The leaders of Dagestan, Ingushetia, Kalmykia, and the governors of the Krasnodar Territory and the Rostov Region are included in the UK sanctions list in connection with the special military operation in Ukraine.

The “Caucasian Knot” has reported that the US Department of the Treasury imposed sanctions against relatives of Suleiman Kerimov, a senator from Dagestan and a billionaire. In September, the United States tightened sanctions against Ramzan Kadyrov by extending them to relatives of the leader of Chechnya, including his spouse Medni and three of his daughters, as well as Fatima Khazueva and Aminad Akhmadova, who were named the Ramzan Kadyrov’s wives.

The UK expanded the sanctions list to include 22 more Russian citizens, including heads of 10 regions, the “Kommersant” reports.

The British Foreign Office announced new sanctions being imposed on officials “who encouraged and ensured the conscription of citizens” to participate in the special military operation in Ukraine. “Ten governors and regional heads have also been sanctioned. This includes the heads of Dagestan, Ingushetia and Kalmykia – some of Russia’s poorest ethnic republics, from which a significant number of conscripts have been drawn,” the British Foreign Office reports on its official website.

Those on the list will not be able to enter the UK, as well as have accounts or property in the UK.

This article was originally published on the Russian page of 24/7 Internet agency ‘Caucasian Knot’ on November 30, 2022 at 07:15 pm MSK. To access the full text of the article, click here.

Source: Caucasian Knot

All news

April 21, 2024 19:10

April 21, 2024 19:07

April 21, 2024 19:01

April 20, 2024 20:38

April 20, 2024 19:38

News archive